Baclofen Potency

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Baclofen Potency

I've been titrating up on baclofen for 3 months. First using Fexobac 10mg and 25mg tablets from GenPharma India through 4rx.com, then adding a US filled prescription from my doctor of 20mg tablets of baclofen manufacted by IVAX USA. I have switched back and forth, and combined the two and honestly cannot tell the difference between them. I have, at times, experienced some severe side effects. My titratation has been largely slow and steady, with one drastic push to 220+ and back down to 120 or so. Now I'm up to 165, with an even slower and steady titration.

There have been many reports on this forum re: concerns about the different potencies of brands of baclofen that we are all using. Houtx's recent post about a conversation with Dr. LeVin where he (LeVin) is suspect of the Indian baclofen Houtx is using has got me thinking a bit (I've also spoken to Dr. LeVin, and I have every reason to believe that he's legitimate and that his advice is sound). So here's some ideas from just a tiny bit of research:

I believe some Baclofen preparations can be racemic, i.e. a mixture of different enantiomers (mirror images of the same drug molecule that look the same, but can be effectively different).

from wikipedia:

(that's lactic acid)

Enantiomers of each other often show different chemical reactions with other substances that are also enantiomers. Since many molecules in the body of living beings are enantiomers themselves, there is often a marked difference in the effects of two enantiomers on living beings. In drugs, for example, the working substance is often one of two enantiomers, while the other one is responsible for adverse effects.

[...]