Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No help at the doctors

Hi All
    I have been bumming around here for a few months - hoping the penny would drop knowing I'm not the only one struggling etc, getting loads of good advice from everyone.
    This last month has been unbearable for me - I have been drinking in the morning at the weekends, whenever I have the excuse during the week - pretty much all the time.
    There have been numerous rows with my partner & whether we can save our relationship needs time to see.
    I made the step yesterday & went to see my doctor to admit just how bad things have got - I stayed in bed all Sunday topping up a glass of vodka.
    He has reffered me to a local alcohol team & I'm waiting on hearing if they can offer me support. According to him there is nothing he can prescribe as I need to want to do it for myself & no "magic pill" as he describes will do that for me.
    I am off work and looked up AA meetings today & may go later - I've been years back & found the culture hard to get to grips with - the 90 meeting in 90 days - having to say I will never be normal again. I find this sort of attitide depressing. But I need to do something.

Anyway, I'm hoping to be able to use this as tool & any advice etc is greatly welcomed. I really feel at the end of my tether - I'm 33 & slowly turning into a drinker who is going to lose my job, house etc. Imust do something to stop that.

Much love
    Nattie

No help at the doctors

Hi Nattie, could you perhaps buy the meds here at MWO. Lots of people here say they work with helping with cravings etc. If you are desperate to talk to someone, you could always ring the Alcohol help-line too. I did that several times when i was feeling so isolated and alone. they really helped me. And maybe, try and talk to your partner? Could he help? We are here for you too. Bella xxx

Comment

No help at the doctors