Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Maximum Heart Rate: For Real, not formula.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Today I hit the ceiling on aerobic training. Have not done that in several months. I hit 183 pulse rate, while mountain biking on the roads here in the woods on the uphill climbs. I kept pushing, and that was it. I got off the bike, and walked up the hill, and checked my pulse manually, and it was there. No error from the pulse watch.

So I am 51 years old, and the normal formula 220 minus age says I should be at 169. A few other formulas taking into account resting pulse rate, say 174 or 175 should be my max.

I feel fine now, as rate came back down to 120's in just 20 or so minutes of walking around doing chores during cool down. I have been training fairly regular on aerobics for 19 months now since I went AF and quit smoking. I still cough up a bit of cigarette sludge on these max workouts, but that is a good thing I believe. Getting less and less with the months.

I had a cardiogram last physical in April, and doctor says my heart is very strong for my age. I think I really increased it's power during my early 30's when I was mountain biking 20 and 30 mile rides.

So, I would like to hear from some of the younger or older members who know what their real maximum is. A co-worker who is 6 years younger than me, in much better shape, says his is 191.

Neil

Hey Xtexan, I commend you on your commitments you've made to yourself... As a teenager I smoked for 5 years.. I had a hell of a time quitting !! You are doing so great !