New Here ... And Acupuncture Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi there ... I'm brand new to this ...eager and, also, scared. I'm 41, 5'2 and a single mom and, in the last two years have progressed to drinking a bottle of wine a night, with very few AF days. It seems that, as soon as the clock hits 6pm, the bottle pops open and, no matter how I tell myself "I'm only going to have ONE tonight" ... invariably the bottle empties by 9 or 10. If I'm at a party where the wine is flowing and my consumption can go unchecked, god knows how much I drink.

I'm a 'high performing' drinker. No one would suspect. I never miss an obligation. I never slur my words. I don't even act much differently. I just feel better. At least while I'm drinking. ;-) The next morning is a different story altogether. And, after a lifetime of being absurdly healthy and fit and thin, I've put on nearly 30lbs in those two drinking years as well.

So ... in classic "wake up as soon as the alcohol is digested' style, I found myself up @ 4am and, yet again, trying to find some alternative other than AA. And found this site. I ordered the book last night and managed to squeeze in for a visit with my family doctor today. He's the first person I've ever told that I have a problem. It felt oddly good to talk about it.

He is disinclined to start me on Topamax as a first effort. Instead, he's urging me (gotta love a medical doctor who does this) to try acupuncture first, then add in supplements, then try meds if those fail. According to him (and my online research this afternoon seems to confirm it), acupuncture has been astonishingly successful in treating cocaine & heroin addiction and related cravings (and, of course, alcohol addictions as well). Has anyone on this group tried it ... what was your experience?