OK, where to now?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OK, where to now?

Alright, I've almost made it past day 2 AF. I had been drinking daily for the past 15+ years. Two years ago I made it almost 3 wks "sober", but was still hiding drinking from my wife. This weekend I made a complete ass out of my self over what coulda been a minor issue (again!!). After 2 days of soul searching I decided I had to change for my wife and family.
    For the most part I'm OK I work alot and don't have time to think about it (or the withdrawl) when I'm working. Home is another story..... Last night I sat here refreshing the page waiting for a reply.... The first night's sleep sure was fun!!! Today after work the tension is insane!!! I feel like sh*t and don't know how to focus. I keep hearing a voice that if I just had ONE drink it would take the edge off and make quitting easier.... I made it past last night, but am starting to wear thin.... I might have gotten 2-3 hours of sleep.....

Any ideas???

Thanks all,
    Bummn

OK, where to now?

Do whatever it takes to NOT have another drink, it will only prolong these feelings. Walk, run, do something - ANYTHING to take your mind off it.

Tell that voice to shut the F#$K UP!

You're in charge here, not that bloody beast that lives in the bottle. It's ONLY an addiction and you can make it go away.

Tell me Bummn, what can you do NOW to take your mind of it?
    It always seems impossible until it's done....

Comment

OK, where to now?

Right now I'm gonna go to the store.... Drive around for a bit and get the heck outta the house as I just need a change of scenery.... I

Comment

OK, where to now?

Hi there

I hope you listen to our wise Flip.

Can you try Chat to keep yourself occupied?

Also, there are things that can help with sleep, like the natural aid melatonin (look for rapid release

Don't give up.

Comment

OK, where to now?

Don't go anywhere near the alcohol store/aisle!!