Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Biggest concern -- cognitive skills

Dear Dr Garcia &/or RJ,
    I am used to pain & discomfort having suffered with migraines for over 15 yrs. That has ended. I am doing this for the alcohol problem (about to start). Therefore my biggest concern is the affect on cognitive skills. I am a technical consultant -- think, research, write abstractly all day. How severe are the cognitive issues? Do they "always" pass & typically when? I work from home mostly & I may be able to hide out for a few days at a time -- but I will still have to produce.

Thank you again ..so much!

This was worrying to me, too. I'm a technical writer. I had a few problems initially, but they seem to have passed...I'm at 250mg now. And oddly enough, they weren't with technical items, but with more mundane words. For instance, had no problem with detailed instructions for servicing a water sterilizer...but couldn't remember the name of the lady who runs the blueprint library!

My typing got a bit dyslexic as well, but once aware....could be coped with..and as I said, seem to be past that now.

Comment

To "Iwanttobelieve"..Thank you!...I am a technical writer also!!!...hope we can share more...
      How l ong did the problem last? At what dosage did it start? Did you subsequently up your dosage?
      How did you handle the typing dyslexia? Thank you ;.)

Comment

Worst was at 75 mg or so....seemed to even out at about 150 mg or so. Just yesterday went to 300 mg.

As far as typing dyslexia...have always had it so some degree

Computers are so much more forgiving than typewriters were.

I'm just very careful as I type. And we do have very excellent editors....

Comment

Dear Coggy fog,