Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Frightened by what I see

:new:

I am 42 and just became aware of two alcoholics on opposite sides of my family. I am just beginning to learn about the disease and its effects on families.

First, my mom-in-law (82 years old) is "addicted" to her alcoholic 60-year-old son. He is on his fourth marriage and has lived with her off and on as an adult (between marriages). He was able to convince her to give him power of attorney, put her car in his name, and put her home and life savings in Joint accounts with him. He's very smooth and persuasive, when it suits him. Now that her house has sold and he kept the money, he won't speak to her AT ALL. In the past, he's gotten angry and given her the Silent Treatment for weeks at a time. It's different now. He's only spoken to her once in six months. She learned from a third party that her home sold (she lives with us now). She manages on her Social Security pretty well but she could someday need her savings. Plus, the longer it's in his possession the more likely it is to disappear. He's worked himself to the bottom of the ladder professionally and his wife is retired, yet they take 3-4 vacations a year and just bought a brand new $20,000 truck. I've tried to get mom-in-law to Al-Anon but she says she can't hear anything (bought her great hearing aids that seem to work everywhere else, hmmm). She, by the way, is the daughter of an alcoholic and her first husband (his father) drank himself to death in his early 30s.