In the mood

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

In the mood

I am new to the concept of moderating my drinking. I can admit that I am out of control. I am responsible and maintain my duties in a profession, but I know that my health is suffering from what I drink. I look at a 12 pack of beer and think, "Is that going to be enough?" I sit here now drinking and this is the first time I have admitted that I need help. I drink secretively from my fiance and I go to work each day as normal. I just quit smoking 8 days ago and have found a renewed strength in myself and figured if I could quit smoking, I could moderate my drinking. I am hoping to get pregnant in the next 6 months and I want it to be happy, not depressing because I can't have a drink. Also, I want to get rid of the beer gut I have acquired!! My fiance works every night until 12 midnight which makes it easy for me to drink as much as I want, whenever I want. I need suggestions on how to stop the drinking every night and just be content without beer or any other alcohol.

P.S. Not really open to taking any more drugs...already on Chantix to quit smoking.

In the mood

Hello, Knotme. Welcome to MWO. I completely understand your not wanting any more drugs. You may want to take a mulitvitamin and maybe something to curb cravings like - L-glutamine or Kudzu. They are herbs available over the counter.

Also, have you considered non-alcohol beer to help you cut back? I drink an NA beer and it has helped tremendously. It also helps to keep cravings to a minimum. Won't hurt to try. It has kept me af for 28 days now.

Read and post often. It helps so much. Good luck. I wish you a lot of success.

Love, Me
    :l
    Alcohol is simply the device between success and failure.

Comment

In the mood