Need Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Advice

I'm on day 38, taking supps every day, listening to CDs, Topamax at 200mg. First week was relatively easy for me. I thought I had stumbled on to a miracle cure. After week 1 started drinking again, but definitely noticed desire and tolerance were down. Now I?m drinking almost every night again, but it seems more out of habit than craving or addiction. I never drink in the AM or during the day and have never had bad withdrawal symptoms. I?m 41 years old, 5?11? and weigh 260lbs. No weight loss to date with Topamax. My health is terrible and I know that I have been dying a very slow death for many years now. I need to quit, but can?t seem to find that final piece of the puzzle. I?m looking for advice, any advice. Please? Feeling a bit desperate at this point. I?m out of options. AA on and off for 10+ years, just doesn?t work for me.
    -Steve
    I went to my doctor and told him I had a serious drinking problem and that I was in desperate need of a solution. He said, 'Stop drinking.' I said, 'I don't get it..' He said, 'Go home and think about it.'

Need Advice

Welcome, Steve. Well done for admitting that you need help and for the progress you have made thus far.

I am wondering about this comment....
    Quote by BigMac
    Now I?m drinking almost every night again, but it seems more out of habit than craving or addiction.
    What made you not drink that first week? Perhaps just the enthusiaism of it all? Are you still committed to the CDs? I've never used them, but I've heard that people who used them and quit listening too soon have gone back to drinking.

Are you aware of what your actual triggers are? If not, really try to hone in on these. Caffiene, stress, work, happy hour? Really give this some thought.

Just want to see if we can help you figure this out.

Love, Me
    :l
    Alcohol is simply the device between success and failure.

Comment

Need Advice