Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

half marathon info. No, I have not lost my mind!! yet...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OK, I have talked with several of you about the changes we are all making throughout this incredible journey toward sobriety and our new "100 dollar" lives. (Allie, you are still famous). I, personally, am going through some extreme highs and lows, punctuated with profound marrital problems. As far as the drinking and my health go, that situation has taken a drastic turn for the better!! I have had 5 drinks in the last 12 days, and those were consumed on 2 occasions (3 one day, 2 another). I have officially lost 5 pounds! I am not bloated. I have not had a hangover in almost 2 weeks. I'm calling the folks at the Guinness Book of World Records!! Just kidding.

What I REALLY did is...get this...registered to run a half marathon on labor day weekend this year.
    NO, I am not a runner.
    NO, I have never done anything like this before.
    YES, I may puke when/if I finish, but I accept that.

Before I started MWO (started tinkering about 3 wks ago, got serious 12 days ago), the longest distance I had ever ran was about 2 miles. I ran 4 miles yesterday. Amazing. Felt great!!!
    Topa dopa? supps? lack of hangover/bloating? alanis morrisette/angry/scorned woman syndrome? don't know, don't care. Something lit a fire under me and I feel like the only way to keep it going is to fully commit to yet another lofty goal.
    Hence: half marathon
    labor day weekend
    Virginia Beach
    It actually looks like a blast!! There is a rock band about every mile, cheerleading squads (Brandy...), it's a flat course run along the boardwalk and finishing along the beach.

Please humor me and check out the website. I have already paid and everything. It's a done deal. I need roomies!!!
    If you register today, you get a free t-shirt.... ooooohhhh...
    ok, I'm done.

here it is:
    www.rnrhalf.com/race_info.html

Becca;