needing a bit o' reassurance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi folks.. I have just received my MWO book and CDs.. spent the day working while I listened to 2/3 CDs.. very calming and peace-inducing.. I like the statements about being in control of drinking and choosing health.. these speak to me a lot more than a powerlessness theory does. I found them very hopeful! I prefer the ones where the guy is actually speaking though, running water makes me have to go to the bathroom?:

I have some fears plaguing me and was hoping some of you could speak to this.. I guess it?s the age-old question of ?is it too late for me?? I have been abusing alcohol big-time for ten years now, and sometimes I wonder if all the damage is already done. It?s not really a ?what?s the point? thing, because I am dedicated to working this program, but I really get nervous when I think of how badly I abused my body for so long.
    Thanks for listening!

Jeannie
    : :

Hi Jeannie!
    So glad you are liking what you have received! As far as the health question goes, I know it's a daunting task, but your doctor will be able to give you some insight into any damage you may have caused with the alcohol. I thought for sure my liver was screaming for mercy, but my doctor insisted on drawing blood for liver function, blood count, and albumin, and as far as I know, nothing was too far out of whack or I would have gotten a call by now, they told me. I will find out for sure when I go for my first re-check on the 22nd. He made a good point that if any levels were where they were not where they were supposed to be, he would expect that to improve within the month and if everything looked good.... my smartass chimed in "well, then I haven't killed myself yet!!!" Exactly!!