Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

19 year old - mother is an extreme alcoholic - HELP!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My name is Amber and I am a college freshman in Colorado. My mother has been an alcoholic since I can remember. She recently checked herself in at a local hospital and started attending AA meetings and support groups but as soon as she "graduated" she returned to her same life almost immediatly. My family and I were convinced that she was cured but we were wrong. About a month ago, the drinking returned but this time twice as bad as before. Being a psychology major I have learned that the average recovering alcoholic relapses once or twice after the help. But to me personally I believe that if she continues in this path she will not be alive in the next 12 months. Her drinking is so bad that I find myself coming home every night scared as to what I will find. In some cases I have came home to her passed out, leaving lit cigerettes around the house, falling very hard into the wall and not recalling this in the morning. I guess the reason I came her was because I have tried everything. I need someones advice, preferably a recovering acoholic. I am desperate and extremely scared. No matter what I seem to do or say it doesn't work. I love my mother and I can't stand to see her like this once again. We have told her repeatedly how we feel and it seems to have no effect on her AT ALL! I have tried to make her feel guilty, I have tried to be her friend I have even gone to the point of researching this disease to educate her. I want a mother-daughter relationship that so many people have. I really feel as if I don't have a mother that I can depend on. Im scared that she will not be around for the important things that make living life worth while; like my wedding, her grandchildren etc. So if anyone can offer me some advice I would sincerly appreciate it. Thanks for listening....amber