It's not alcoholism if the wine is really expensive

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OK so today is my second day. I've never done anything like this before. I'm a highly successful and hugely ashamed woman who's been trying to hide this for decades, mostly doing a pretty good job at it. Love to drink alone so no one sees the quantity. Been fooling myself for a very long time. Yesterday I didn't drink, a very big accomplishment for me. Ordered the topamax from an off shore pharmacy, delivering in two weeks. Ordered the book, and will get supplements tomorrow. Plan to get through 48 hours and then take an Antabuse from a stash I ordered (off shore) last year but never made it 48 hours to take one. Is this a total cop out? I seem to need a crutch until meds and book come.

God I hope this works. Thanks for listening.

Welcome jd,
    You are among many women and men on this site that have the same issues. Many of us are successful working adults that drink too much or more than we are comfortable with. The supplements will help with cravings, as will spending time on this board and reading and posting. I wouldn't think of taking the Antabuse as a cop out, whatever it takes to get you through is worth it.

You can also download the book as a PDF and read it online if you don't want to wait for the hard copy to come in the mail.

Let us know how its going!

Marcie

Comment

Hi there JD, And welcome aboard!
      I don't want to discourage you, but I've read that Antabuse can make you very sick, even up to a couple of weeks within drinking alcohol. I also have some,(prescribed @ my request, from my Dr. But haven't taken it, I've been afraid to. Besides the liver damage from it, I haven't been very successful at being abstinant for any long period of time. I'm no authority on it, but you might want to check w/an MD, or someone before taking it.