Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reading list!

Hi,

I am new to the program and am one who loves to read! Reading takes your mind off things; and can heal when you have read the right book.

Through out the site there are many mentions of good books to read. I'm sorry to say that I did not write them down when I saw them and now can not recall which threads had them.

If anyone knows of any good books that might help me and others...maybe we could get a list started.

With MY Way Out being first of course.

Thank you for you time.
    Tammie

Reading list!

reading list

I accumulated a wealth of great reading material with my many previous attempts at sobriety. Too bad they weren't able to stop my drinking|I
    Here they are:
    "Drinking: A Love Story" by Caroline Knapp
    "Codependent No More" and "The Language of Letting Go"....both wonderful books by Melodie Beattie
    "Beyond the Influence..Understanding and Defeating Alcoholism" by Katherine Ketcham (really goes into the science part of this illness)
    "7 Tools to beat Addiction" by Stanton Peele, PhD

Comment

Reading list!

Re: reading list

"Happy Hours, Alcohol in a Woman's Life" by Devon Jersild.

Comment

Reading list!

good readin'

Hi Ya'll, Well this isn't alcohol related, but if you 'd like to enjoy some good reading, just for the fun of it. Try anything by Nicholas Sparks. Talk about heart wrenching... One of my favorites is "The Notebook". Make sure you have full box of kleenex w/you tho. That man could yank emotions out of a rock... Hugs Judie

Comment

Reading list!

Re: good readin'

This is a novel, but is alcohol related. Very entertaining and fast moving, kindof along the lines of caroline knapp's memoir: alcohol, a love affair .

The book is "DRY", by Augusten Burroughs.

(info: the author is gay)

Comment

Reading list!

Re: good readin'