Hope I make some friends here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

This is just so amazing to me - women connecting with other women who have this secret, hidden problem. I've been reading all the posts and hoping that I fit in and can start talking with people. I'm a highschool teacher from Cape Cod. Looks like I have a charmed life, albeit a demanding job. I have a hobby I love - my horse and trailriding with friends. But those friends don't know the real me and that I drink a bottle of wine every night. I live in a resort area - can get to a gorgeous beach in 2 minutes. This is where I "think" I'll get myself back. I have so little ambition and so much resentment. Just want to be me again. I know I'm rambling but I just didn't know where to turn - knew AA was NOT for me - didn't even entertain the idea. Nothing else was helping - all my resolve and guilt feelings. I'm hoping to get started soon. Don't have an appointment with my Dr. for 2 weeks for the Topa but I am excited to get going with the program. Hope others will chirp in and get to know me. Em

Hi Em,

Welcome to MWO! Hey, there is a thread on the General Discussion board right now called "Calling All Teachers". You should check it out. There is even someone else here that is pretty new as well who also likes horses.

Well, you certainly are not alone in how you are feeling, that is for sure. Many of us here did not like the idea of AA, myself included. This program has pretty much turned my life around with the help of the great people here and whole lot of determination! The same can be true for you.

Keep reading and posting. There is plenty of support for you here and really, it is like one big family! Again Welcome, and best of luck as you get started!

Donna

Comment

Hi EM
      You are welcome here. Friends will happen!
      It sounds like you live in a beautiful place! I love the beach but don't get to go very often. It's about a four hour drive from here (central Alabama).