Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My story at last

Hello everyone
    Well, I have been lurking around this site and now I have decided it's probably about time I tell my story.
    How to begin? Well, I guess I will introduce myself. My name is Jen, I am 29 and I am a lawyer in Canada. But I have never felt secure or comfortable in my own skin. People say to me "but you have made it! You are a success!"
    It doesn't matter. I have never felt good enough.
    When I went through school, I was teased mercilessly (public school) because by grade 3 I had braces, glasses and a bowl hair cut (I am a girl, it was not cute). I remember always wanting to fit in. A good day for me was a day when I was not teased or made fun of. I was miserable and had absolutely no self esteem whatsoever.
    By the time I got to high school, I wasen't quite so awkward but I was still insecure. Then I found a group of friends who were really fun - and they were well known and liked. I finally fit in somewhere. These people were real partiers. By the time I was 17, I had already established my love affair with the bottle. I started out and became known as the rum and coke girl. I always drank rum and coke. In fact, I remember being at a bon fire and tripping over a log and landing on my face, but I was proud because my cup with the rum and coke was still upright and not a drop had spilled! What an accomplishent!
    The summer I was 17 is a blur. I dont remember much of it.
    And it has pretty well continued like this since then, though there have been periods of less consumptoin and more consumption.