Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do I really have a problem or am I in denial?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Look, I'm a professional who has been working in a series of very responsible jobs for the last 20 years or so. I have never been fired from any job. I take on more responsibility than my colleagues. I have been steadily promoted in all of this time, and have (luckily) been a person sought after in the industry where I am working. My personal life is fine, I married a lovely woman more than 10 years ago, and we've had only one or two disagreements during this time. However, I drink more than anyone I know. I started drinking at around 18 years of age, and my drinking habit is limited strictly to beer. I excersize a few times a week (ice hockey or tennis) and although I'm not the best guy out there on the ice, neither am I the worst (and I'm not the youngest out there, either)...
    I work out of my home but travel frequently, sometimes for 3 or 4 weeks at a time. When I am home, I normally start drinking at around 11:00 in the morning, and will put away about 12 beers before going to bed. When I am traveling I don't drink a drop until the 'job is done' - meaning, that when my specific responsibilities are fulfilled I feel free to hit the beer again. This may be 3:00 in the afternoon or 11:00 at night. While I'm working, I don't feel the need to drink, but after I've finished I'll go for the beer again.
    My wife and friends marvel over the fact that they have rarely ever seen me drunk. I am convinced that they are not just being kind to me, otherwise I don't think I would have remained married or continue to have the same friends. (my wife may have one glass of wine every 2 or 3 days, and for the most part, my friends drink a couple of beers a night).. I have been told by some that they were initialy afraid that I was an alcoholic but have revised their opinion of me as someone who 'just likes beer a lot'.