Is this really "IT"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this really "IT"

I am a 65 year old professional woman who has worked in the substance abuse field (go figure) for 35 years and am a closet drinker. I started drinking 25 years ago, to relax. Early on, it was mostly 3 or so glasses of wine a night, maybe 3 nights a week. I am now up to 5-15 hefty drinks of vodka 5 or 6 nights a week. No one knows I drink (maybe my roommate). I always stop when I go to bed, and rarely drink in the morning, unless I want to just laze all day, which I did Sunday. I have missed days of work but I am not physiologically addicted. I never have withdrawal symptoms on days I don't drink. I don't have a personality change when drinking, I don;t drink and drive. I can and do drink socially with friends and family, always stopping at 3 or 4 glasses of wine,(until I get home.) So why do I want to stop? I'm overweight and gaining more, I'm afraid of a heart attack, or stroke, liver damage, etc. I have tried a few other ways to stop. Nothing worked because nothing stopped the great feeling I get from alcohol. I am single and lonely, I suppose. And the one thing (besides being with my grandchildren) makes me happy is alcohol. I always knew that I drink because it makes me feel so good. I have always wanted not to want alcohol. I just never knew that the was a medication that would stop that high. I recently learned that doctors are now prescribing medications for alcohol treatment. And somehow, I stumbled on MYO book, bought it before Christmas, just found it stuffed somewhere, read it yesterday, and am convinced it will work for me. I am so excited to think I am going to get this monkey off my back. I made an appointment with my GP for this Thursday but am worried that he won't prescribe the Topamax. I am prepared to tell him that I am going to do this with or without him, will order online without a script if I have to. Any suggestions for what to say convince him? I have