Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So worried about my mum... not sure how to help anymore

Hi,
    This is my first time posting on here. My mum is a member and has mentioned how great the site is, so thank you!

I'm so worried about my mum and feel like I'm running out of ideas to help her. She moved back from Spain just over a year ago and has really struggled to cope living on her own for the first time. As well as this she has had numerous things to cope with over the past 6 years. It's no surprise she's struggled to cope.

I try my hardest to empathise and put myself in mums shoes. I feel for her so much. She started drinking in a very bad way this year, since living alone. Drinking had beena problem before but now we live close to each other and she lives alone I've seen a huge difference throughout the year. Mum was drinking around a litre of vodka a day and was so so sad, it was heartbreaking. She then detoxed in May and I was so so proud of her. She saw it through and had a fantastic few weeks. She did end up drinking again and it's been a bit of a cycle since May. She had another medicated detox and also detoxed herself once which was absolutely amazing! I know deep down she desperately wants to get better, otherwise she wouln't bother to stop. For the past couple of months mum has been on and off the drink... having say a week sober and then a few days of drinking huge amounts. I've tried asking her over and over again to please tell me or the nurse who visits her if she starts to feel like she needs a drink. This way we may be able to talk her out of it. But she doesn't talk to us, and just starts to drink again.