How to taper alcohol to prevent DT's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi. I am new to MWO, and planning to "do" program, sans topiramate. I am a 58-yr-old nurse practitioner, have been drinking a fifth of 80 proof liquor every two days for quite a few years. Fairly high functioning, considering the incredible amount of ETOH! What are the chances I can just jump into this, without major withdrawal symptoms? I have looked for protocols recommending ways to reduce consumption gradually, but only find dosing schedules for medical detox, reducing doses of benzodiazepines. My husband is aware of problem, but naive about amount of alcohol and long-term effects. Don't want to put him in the position of calling 911 for seizures! Any advice out there from the Real World? Sara

Sara,

I certainly am not a medical professional, but know that because you have consumed large amounts of alcohol on a regular basis does not mean that you are going to go through DTs in the form of shaking and seizures. I didnt. I too consumed large amounts. When I first started this program I was drinking one of those BIG bottles of red wine every night... ya know the one you buy for company when you have two other couples over and you are going to serve wine with dinner?