Anti-drinking drugs and binge drinking

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I originally posted this as a response to another thread. Apologies - I'm still learning my way around the site.

:welcome:

I'm new to this forum, so please forgive me if I'm in the wrong forum of if I don't understand the protocol.

I've been a moderate drinker for most of my adult life, although it has never been a problem until the past few years. Three years ago, my mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer, and things went downhill from there for me. There was a time when I never consumed more than 3 drinks a day, and I never drank before 6pm. After my mother's diagnosis, my drinking more than doubled. Some people would suggest that I'm drinking to cover the pain, which is partially true. However, I need to admit that it's turned into a problem. Over the past year, it's not uncommon for me to drink too much at night, and get up the next day and suggest to my wife the we go out to brunch - in order for me to have a beer or glass of wine to deal with the hangover. Since my mother died in January - on my birthday - it's been downhill from there.

I've tried Campral in the past, and it has worked for me. However, the stress in my life always led me back to the bottle. I've also tried Topamax, but I felt lousy when I took it, so I quickly gave it up. I'm starting a new course of treatment on Naltrexone tomorrow, and I have high hopes.

I know that what I'm about to say has probably been said a thousand times on this Web site. But, I don't consider myself to be an alcoholic. (I know, denial ain't just a river in Egypt!) I'm struggling to deal with my mother's death. But, I know I have a problem. I'll keep this forum posted on my success with Naltrexone. Thanks so much in advance for your support and understanding.

hopefully this site will help you figure out what your triggers are and how to deal with them and your emotions.