Nothing is working

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nothing is working

Nothing is working for me. I am a working professional and all at work is going well, but when I get away from work, I want to drink. I have quit going to bars. I do not associate with my drinking friends anymore. I am doing better than I was. But I am not free of alcohol. I do not keep it in my house. If I want any, I have to buy it that day. Which I do. I have been on Campral. I have been in counseling for a year and a half. I tried Revia, but it made me very sick. I know I suffer from depression and anxiety. I have tried many medications, but have been only able to tolerate ativan and lexapro. Everything else either makes me so tired I can't do anything or so nauseous I can't do anything. Does anyone have any advice? I have read everything and I continue to suffer.

Nothing is working

Hello Slieb-

I like you tried everything but couldn't stay away from it for any real length of time.

I tried Revia (naltrexone) in October but also got really nasty side effects and stopped after about 10 days. I started it again three months ago, but this time I started with a tiny dose- less than a quarter of a tab, just a nibble off the end. I carried on like that until I did not feel anything, then upped the dosage slightly- made sure I didn't get any nausea for a number of days before I upped it again. I can now take it without any side effects at all.

I take 25mg at around 5pm each day- many days that stops me picking up. If I do take a drink, I don't really get the same buzz anymore, and after a maximum of 3 beers I have had enough- generally I don't manage to finish the third, I throw it away.

Good luck, keep checking back, one day you will read something here and the penny will drop!

Comment

Nothing is working

Coming here and reading and posting will help. Look at the Toolbox under the Monthly Abstinance Forum. Then make a plan.

Good luck, Stay Strong.