Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Enough is enough

:new:

I am so miserable and can't seem to get out of this endless downward spiral. I have been drinking around a bottle of vodka a day for the last 8 years or so and have been drinking pretty heavily for the last 14. I was always been able to get my work done and keep up appearances but over the last two years that has been less and less the case. Hangovers are killing me now and I feel very anxious until I have the first drink.

I am at the end of my rope and I need to get a grip of myself. I have been reading the thread about tapering and think that I need to try it. I can't afford to go to rehab and can't have alcoholism on my insurance record for reasons I can't go into.

I haven't had a drink today. I plan on starting the beer an hour or so taper I read about until the symptons go away. Hopefully it won't be too bad. My heart is already beating a little faster and I am starting to get anxious as I had my last drink about 14 hours ago.

Well here goes. Please wish me luck.

Enough is enough

Hey Time! Welcome aboard :welcome: I am proud of you for taking this first step. There is a lot of support and encouragement here for you. Have you downloaded RJ's book? I can't offer advice on the tapering, but am glad to hear you have a starting point. That is fantastic. Find the way that works for you. You can do this. Stay close, keep posting, and keep reading. I look forward to hearing from you.

Comment

Enough is enough

Thank you both for the inspiration

It was that article you linked to that got me seriously thinking I could finally quit. I just found this site when I searched again looking for the original article. It isn't going to be easy but I think I can do it. I will keep reading the posts here and will go get some more supplements tomorrow. I have a few of those suggested already.

Comment

Enough is enough

Hi Time,