Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice please, Topamax or Baclofen to start the program?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi Everybody! I'm new here and am looking for some advice on whether to start off with Topamax or Baclofen. I've read the MWO book and have supps and hypno CD's on order. I have a Dr. appointment scheduled for tomorrow morning to "fess" up and get a prescription. I have been lurking around here for a few days. At first I was certain I was going to try topamax but after reading more I am wondering if Baclofen would be better to try?

How do you decide and which seems to be working the best for everybody?

Here's my history. I am a daily drinker starting in late afternoon and drinking right up til I go to bed. Usually beer but sometimes wine or a combo. A normal night is anywhere from 9-12 beers and sometimes more - rarely less. I have been doing this to some degree or another for almost 20 years. I am a stay-at-home Mom with two young kids and always thought I would quit when I had a family (I did quit, grudgingly, through two pregnancies and thought each time that would be the end but as soon as I could I went back to drinking - Why, Why, Why!!). But I haven't been able to quit or cut down and I must do something to protect my marriage and spare my kids. My husband has been very tolerant but I know he is sick of living with someone he can't talk to without me forgetting what he says and someone who is basically "checked out" of life every evening.

I believe that a good part of my drinking is driven by depression and anxiety, both of which I have been treated for in the past with success but have not stopped the drinking. It is because of this that I am starting to wonder if Baclofen might be a better choice starting out?

I am grateful for any suggestions or comments - Thanks!

Baclofen would defiantly be my first choice. It has few (none that I noticed) side effects as Topa has MANY !!!