Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here...

Hi.

I am a five year post op gastric bypass RNY patient. I have lost 125 lbs.

Recently went on Lamictal for reasons that when I get depressed I drop like a rock (kind of like I swim) in a pool. :H

It caused a rapid weight gain so that I am now up to 200#

Am going off that and going back to Wellbutrin XL. I would prefer to deal w/my depression in other methods than that drug.

Additionally I am on Campral to curb AL cravings; Effexor for anxiety. I recently discovered that they are "cancelling" each other out.

I have been to a fabulous program ... an IOP... but they required AA 3xweek. I hated AA. I am religious but I didn't feel it was working for me in any respect. One exception is the Big Book meetings. But I rarely go to those.

I found that Jack Trimpey's "Rational Recovery" method worked for me well but i relapsed.

I have a point....I promise.

LOL

Effexor, in WLS patients, masks the effects of alcohol to the point where you don't know you've had too much until you are almost passed out. Taking advantage of this novelty, I found myself drinking heavier and heavier.

This week in meeting w/my MD, I expressed my distress over the Lamictal and then my resignation to the fact that I should probably take Anatabuse to get me a head start for three months.

I am scared. I found this site and am looking for feed back on the antabuse and all the nasty things that can happen other than the obvioous. And since it is not a long term med, is MWO something that I could follow after being on Antabuse?

I have two children and I'm not looking to die from taking Antabuse and having a side effect even tho I have been sober.

Sorry for the ramble. Feedback is appreciated.
    :thanks:

~BG~

ETA: I wanted to thank Crazy Meds! The Good, The Bad & The Funny of Neurological Medications for having this link on their site or I wouldn't have found this site!
    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~