help! confused as to wether abusing alcohol

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

im a typical student who is wanting to do nursing! but recently my mum expressed concern over my drinking. this was due to me being taken home by the police and from friends expressing concern to her. i normally drink a few times a week, however it is normally to get wasted. i frequently suffer blackouts and dont remember my nights. i was wondering as to whether this is classed as alcohol abuse and if so what should i do. i dont believe i have a drinking problem as i can go days without having a drink. any help would be greatly appricieated.

Hi Beefa and welcome

Only you can decide if you have a drinking problem but the fact that you are here says a lot. And even though you only drink a few times a week and feel you can go without it, the part about getting wasted and blacking out is definately not healthy.

You should stick around and read and post as much as you can. Try going AF for 30 days and then see how you feel.

Sending you tons of support.
    :l
    Ak
    :flower: I'm not as good as I'm gonna get, but I'm better than I used to be.

Comment

thanks for that! i guess its just a really hard thing to think about!

if anyone else can help i would appreiciate it!

thanks

Comment

Hi Beefa and welcome,

Your mom should be concerned. You must be young. That's how it all starts out. If in the beginning you already are having blackouts and don't remember anything, that is a tell tale sign of a problem. If when you first start to drink, and you cannot stop at one or two, that is a good indication that alcohol abuse is in your future, if you don't do something about it now. Don't wait until you are in your 40's or 50's like many of us are. It is way to difficult after many years of habitual drinking to stop. It's pure insanity.

My advice to you is put all your effort into your studies for nursing. Don't let the drink ruin it. Please take care of yourself.