why do i drink?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

why do i drink?

i'm a medical professional, who should know better. i've had several serious health problems related
    to drinking (such as hypertension and even stroke) and i'm still in my forties. yet i still drink! how can i be so stupid?! i know all the reasons to stop, yet i can not.
    [SI:heart: ZE=4][/SIZE]karma

why do i drink?

karma,
    you are not alone.

while i've been here there have been other medical professionals, even a substance abuse counsellor.. you name it its here... professionals think they should be immune to this.. (I know I did) and something in me felt I had to tell people that I was professional because it showed my internal disgust at what I was doing to myself.

knowing why to stop doesent make you stop.. wanting is a beginning and then finding the determination. also for me, putting it into writing and disclosing it (to others, but mainly to myself) was a big step.

sounds like you are on your way...
    you CAN stop.
    good luck
    brigid

Comment

why do i drink?

Hi Karma,

I know how you feel. I am studying nutrition and always lecturing my friends about putting bad foods into their bodies, and then I abuse my body with alcohol. I get so disappointed with myself.

But I KNOW I can beat this as I KNOW you can also. We are all here together to help each other. I just joined this site together and have ordered the books and the cd's. I am going to give moderation a go first and see how I go with that.

Good luck and stay strong.

Comment

why do i drink?

Hi Karma,

Here's one more of the group 'those who teach can't do'. I had been active in the field of drug control and substance abuse prevention. Well, hello, here I am abusing alcohol. It's no excuse, but on the other hand it should be easier for us to understand that WE have a problem and look into a strategy to get out of it.