Yoga Advice/Recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am going on a Yoga & Meditation Weekend in November with a friend and I am new to the yoga. I've been on Amazon looking through the books and DVD's and just don't know where to start. Is there anyone out there who could recommend the best Yoga Guru to look out for, or the best DVD for beginners.

I'd really like to get an understanding of the basics so that when I go on the Weekend I can get the most out of it, although the course is for all levels of experience.

Thanks,

Dewdrop :h
    Enjoy today - there will be no other one quite like it....

Maya Fiennes Kundalini Yoga

Dewdrop - I like Maya Fiennes who is a Kundalini Yoga person. I don't know much about it other than there are many different types. I think she's great but I guess it depends on the style you want. She's English and I think you would be able to find her tapes there. I ordered mine from Acacia, an online store.

Hope that helps.

Comment

Hi DewDrop: If you know what "style" of yoga and meditation will be taught, I can probably guide you to appropriate resources. If not, I suggest you contact the organizers/teachers and find out what style (or you can use the word, "tradition") they teach.

The issue is that there are several best yoga (and meditation) gurus and, although it all comes from the same source, they teach with very different methods and techniques. I can imagine being overwhelmed at Amazon! I'd like to help you get some preparation for what you'll be doing so it stays cohesive.

I took my first yoga class in 1978 :H:H so I've seen a lot of how it's unfolded all around the world.
      "Wherever you are is the entry point." --Kabir

Comment