Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Out of control

HI,

I'm Mandy, 34 and my life is out of control.

I have been drinking since i was 15, but over the last few years it has taken over my life. It was the reason my marriage ended in divorce, and as of today the reason my latest relationship is probably over.

I have been living in Melbourne for almost a year and have not made one friend. I don't go out because i end up falling over drunk and do things i can't remember.

I don't know who i am sober.

Does it get better?

Am i alone?

Out of control

Hi Mandy

Welcome here. I'm Australian too. I joined a while ago, fell off but am back!
    I know exactly how you feel about not knowing who you are when sober and losing relationships and, indeed, whole chunks of your life when drunk! I've been drinking for about 25 years and till about a week ago, I thought there couldn't be a life without alcohol nor could I make friends without alcohol. But believe me this is the best I've felt in all those years! It's very very difficult but I wish I was your age when I discovered something was wrong and sought help! You've got lots to look forward to and this is the best place to get help and support. (Again, I've tried every other treatment under the sun, and this is the only one that "clicked" and, is actually working!!).
    So I know some of the more "experienced" and inspirational MWOers will be able to offer lots of advice support and direction, just as I find every day when I log on, just wanted to say hi and that it really is worth it to do something now
    Best wishes
    blondie

Comment

Out of control

Blondie

Do I know you?

golfGirl

Comment

Out of control

Aloha Mandy!

What a blessing this wedsite has been for me! Get the book, read it, and get started on the Sups ASAP. You will start to feel better and life will have a meaning to it after all.