Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New member - This is my story

A big hello to our other members.

I have been browsing this site as a guest for a few months now, but today I have decided to actually become a member. I need to dramatically cut down the amount I drink and personally need all the support from people who understand, not those who judge.

Basically this is my story....as brief as possible.

I was brought up in a very strict Indian family, where it was acceptable for my dad and brothers to drink, go to the pub, but I was told that women do not drink. I myself had no intention of drinking then anyway. My dad used to get abusive and everyday was a fear whether I'd get a beating today. It didn't help that my mum died of cancer when I was 3 and I was brought up by my step-mum who couldn't even be a friend to me. The only time I got love from her was when I had done all the cooking and cleaning and other mudane tasks so that she was more free. Anyway, when I was 18 my dad told me under no circumstances was I allowed to go uni and he would be looking for a suitable husband for me. After much begging I managed to convince him to let me work. After a short few months I met a guy and we starting dating. That's was when I experienced my first drop of alcohol. But it wasn't an issue, it was just a few drinks as there was no way I could justify being late more than few hours to my dad and definately not if I went home drunk. Soon the relationship fizzled out and by the end of the year (2000) my dad had found a suitable husband for me.