I need some encouragement and motivation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am new at this so I hope someone reads this email and responds to it. I have tried various ways to cut down, but they have worked only for a few weeks. Then I lose my incentive. That's all I'll write for now in case no one gets this.

Aison

Hi Aison... it's great that you know that you need to ask for motivation to keep your incentive to stay AF. Tell us more about your situation, don't worry about no one being around... there always is. For me, admitting I had a problem was what brought me awareness about my problem controlling AL and realizing I just could not drink.

Even if you can remain a few weeks AF, that is better than drinking continuously. What kind of drinker are you? How have you cut down? That is great in itself... you are trying and that is an accomplishment itself!

I am a binger, mainly of vodka for the potency and ease of mixing but drank red wine on nights/days I tried to cut down (or both, a bottle of red and a smaller bottle of vodka to supplement the buzz. My last year of drinking heavily (without trying to quit) I wasn't even mixing and would chug the vodka from the bottle (shot glasses when I tried to be civilized... didn't last long). My longest period AF was about 85 days (Aug 6/11 to Oct 31/11) and then weeks of AF after with occasional attempts at moderation, just couple drinks a few nights. Finally though...by January this year I was back to a 5 day binges, calling in sick to work (not really sick, to drink!) and back anxious and regretful.
    Wow, that was more than I meant to say but helped to get out. Thank you for being there as well, it is so great to know we are not alone..