Almost there!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Almost there!

I'm just starting the program. I got the supps, the tapes, and the book. I have topamax on order.

I have been cutting back over the last week (now 2-3 drinks a day) and plan to go AF as soon as I get the topa maybe sooner.

So who knows I have a problem? My husband, of course, and my mother-in-law are probably the only one's that really have a clue. I come from a long line of let's-not-talk-about-it-ers. I am a pro at pretending everything is great while secretly dying inside.

I've suffered from depression most of my life, contemplated suicide, and alcohol has been a great, temporary, anti-depressant (depressant). I went to a psychologist for six months and did very well, quit drinking, lost 50lbs, then he pcs'd (military). Went to a new psychologist and after an hour of telling him the root of most of my depression (very personal) he told me he couldn't help me because I'm a military spouse not a soldier, why he couldn't tell me that to start off with, I haven't a clue, but it was extremely humiliating and depressing.

I think I hid in plain sight. Never hid bottles or anything like that, just bought the big vat (box) of wine and put it on the counter. I did become the quick change artist though, pulling out the new box while alone so it looked like the same box. More of the hide in plain sight mentality.

I don't think even my husband knows how much I was drinking. He was worried, and he knew I had wine (every night), but I don't think he could tell anymore when I had too much. I was starting at about 10am and going until 8pm and probably had about 15-20 drinks a day.

I married and divorced two abusive husbands by 22, then married again, started a family, and we are celebrating 15 years this Sunday.