Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Campral vs. Topa

:new:
    Hi, I'm new to MWO. Very excited to find this program. I like to "pretend" I can drink normally, and at times I am successful. To best describe it, It's luck of the draw. Sometimes I can stop, sometimes I can't. After 20 years of drinking out of control every night, I now drink about once a week. This has been going on for about a year and a half. The obsession is gone, but the thoughts are always there. I've just learned how to not act on them every time. After all, they are just thoughts... Yeah, I know, I should just stop completely, but if I could be on of the lucky one's like RJ that would be nice.

ANYWAY. My questions is the difference between Campral and Topamax. I actually started taking Campral and a ton of herbs about two weeks ago and have been more obsessed with drinking since. Not good. Actually snuck a few, which I haven't done in a LONG TIME. Drank 3-4 times in the last week. I'm fearful of sliding back into my old habits, and today I just want to cry.

Is Topamax better if you want to "control" drinking and not give it up completely? Do you have to quit, like w/ Campral? Any input would be apprecitaed. Thanks!!!!!

Campral vs. Topa

Oh , Sweetie,why are you so hard on yourself ? You have managed to cut back to once a week after 20 years of heavy drinking. What an achievement!! Why did you start taking the Campral. Was the once a week a really heavy night From my understanding... when you take Campral you should stop the alcohol. With the Topamax this is not necessary.. the drug will help you either stop or moderate. I have ordered same via the internet and am waiting for the delivery.