Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm in trouble and no one knows but me!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I can't remember how I found out about this web site. I spent last weekend at home alone and started drinking wine about 3pm both Sat and Sun and by the evening hours I was searching websites for help with drinking and was so smashed I really don't remember exactly which link got me here but I'm THRILLED to be here. I've ordered the book and cd's and everytime my dog barks I think it's UPS and I get really hopeful the materials have arrived. I've never spoken to a soul about my problems with alcohol and my friends and family are unaware I have a "very serious problem".... There is no way I could go to a public meeting considering what I do for a living in the community I live in and there is no one I can turn to that I trust and quite frankly, my x-husband is a psychiatrist and I don't trust the medical profession for help. After all, they make money only if you are ill.... I know this is cynical but it's where I am. I did get remarried and the 2nd time around it was great and then last Sept. my husband was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer at the age of 49 and he passed away in Dec. so I am devastated and drunk quite a lot at home alone. I function normally during the day but can't wait to get home and drink. I won't go out socially right now because I know I would get smashed. I am really depressed and I know the alcohol depresses me even more. I feel negative about almost everything. TV, movies, news, the war, everything seems so negative and I feel helpless. I know I will get over this and I know I will come out ok but right now it looks pretty grim and the isolation I have put myself in is worrisome. If this program can help me control the alcohol or "stop", I know there is good reason to keep trying to dig myself out of this hole I am in. If I thought I would live like this forever, needing alcohol to numb out every night, my fut