gold coast marathon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gold coast marathon

Hi everyone,its been about 2 yrs since I last posted,with lots of ups and downs in between.But at the moment Iam on an up as Iam training for my first marathon.I have been training for about 3 months now.My drinking has been my downfall (as usual).I seem to be able to put a good af week in.Then BANG the switch is flicked and Iam a right off for a week.Then a good af week with good running.But now with only 7 weeks till the race I decided that now is the time to get serious as I want to make it a marathon that i can be proud of finishing.So I have been surfing around here looking at things and have started taking magnesium and L-Glut,hope they can help.Will keep you posted as to how its going.Anyone else doing the goldcoast marathon? Cheers everyone.

gold coast marathon

Hi Nomore; well done on the training. I'm afraid I am not a runner but this time 2 years ago I was in training for a 111mile cycle. I completed it in June.
    I drank all the way through training, maybe a bit less, but not much. I am proud that I finished but I can definitely say that should I be doing it again there would be NO ALCOHOL. I drank a bottle and a half of wine the night before; I shudder now to think of the danger I was putting myself in - pure madness.....think of the pressure I was putting on my organs. I believe I was not half as good as I could have been and was exhausted afterwards. I truly hope you get it together - it is a lifetime experience and you don't want to miss the joy of seeing where you come in the race without alcohol in your system. You will look back on it, like I do, with some regret if you don't do it AF.
    Go to the Newbies Nest and read these boards daily to help keep yourself on track.
    I have always said I would love to do a marathon. I wish you all the best and let us know how you are getting on.......
    IT'S NEVER TOO LATE TO BE WHAT YOU MIGHT HAVE BEEN