Ashamed, Sad, Hopeless and Helpless

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am 50 years old and I have been drinking for 20 years. I have tried AA and it didn't work for me. I pray to God for strength but is not working either for I am week and feeble when it comes to alcohol. I tend to fool myself in convincing me that if I drink only wine, it will be fine. Well, last night I did it again. Went out with co-workers got drunk and ridiculed myself in front of them and of course I don't remember anything and I am afraid to ask or go back to work on Monday. I am disgusted with myself, I am sick and tired of being sick and tired. IS THERE HOPE FOR ME? DOES GOD STILL LOVES ME A LITTLE? I WANT TO CHANGE! IS IT TOO LATE FOR ME? I LOVE GOD AND WANT TO BELIEVE HE HAS NOT GIVEN UP ON ME.......:upset: :upset: :new:

Welcome Serentity1. Glad you are here. Dont' ever think God doesn't love you because you are drinking!!!! He loves us all. I am not religious, but want you to know that.

You will find you are not alone fighting this. We all have problems with alcohol. I would suggest you read a lot here and post a lot as well. You will find a lot of 'friends' and support here.

Addiction is a horrible thing. We can all relate to it. All of those feelings you have described, we all have felt or are still feeling. The thing is, you aren't any of these. You posted here. You want help. You have admitted you have a problem, and you should feel very proud of yourself for doing it!! That is the first step in obtaining sobriety or moderated drinking. Good for you. Stop beating yourself up it only makes you feel worse. Start loving yourself and tell yourself you deserve to be well!!

:welcome:

Comment

Welcome Serenity1 - you are not alone. We are very glad you are here! There is hope and support here. There are not people who will judge you here. Keep checking in - read the posts. You will find wonderful friends to lean on. Join us like Fan said - one hour at a time at first.