A New Way To Look At My Drinking...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Okay, everyone is probably going to get sick of me posting about this, but like a kid in the candy shop I am studying all I can about meditation and it's benefits. Something that really struck my last night in book that I am reading:

"There's a basic misunderstanding that we should try to be better than we already are, that we should try to improve ourselves, that we should try to get away from painful things, and that if we could just learn how to get away from the painful things, we would be happy.

Meditation is about seeing clearly the body that we have, the mind that we have....

The idea isn't to get rid of your craving, but to make friends with it, to see it clearly with precision and honesty, and also to see it with gentleness....

The gentleness involves not repressing the craving but also not acting out on it. It involves learning how, once you have fully acknowledged the feeling of craving and the knowledge of who you truly are and what you do, to let it go."

To me it was powerful stuff and offered a perspective that I've not thought of before. How many times when I have drank have I simply shut down my mind to it, then wonder the next day how in the heck did all that happen.

It's going to be a long journey but I think I am looking forward to it.
    Sobriety Date: June 15, 2007 -- "It's not having what you want, It's wanting what you've got...."

Hi AA

You have been reading up on Buddhism again - haven't you??

Buddhist teachings start with the four Noble truths.

They go something like -

1 Human existence is characterised by "suffering" .
    Now suffering is not really the right word here, it is a poor translation from the original pali texts - a general feeling of unsatisfactoriness - if such a word existed would be more accurate.

2 This suffering or unsatisfactoriness arises because of "attachment" or "craving"