New, unmotivated, panicked

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

:new: I'm a 43 year-old mother of 3, happily married. I have been drinking for a few years now but the amount I drink has increased. For a long time I thought I didn't really have a problem as I only drank wine, never drank before the evening time... but then as I say, I wanted to drink more, thought about it earlier in the evening, and started to panic that if I wasn't careful I might get to a point where I couldn't stop. So after MONTHS of telling myself I would stop, I did, last Monday. I am now on my 7th alcohol free day. I haven't had DTs or anything, but have been irritable, exhausted and on 4th day tearful. I've also felt very hungry and had dreadful sugar cravings (I don't usually have a sweet tooth at all). I have also come to realise that I don't need medecine to help me: i need motivation. And this is what is really worrying me. Nothing in this AF life gives me the 'high' that drinking did. I know I should be feeling an inner thrill or something because of my achievement. God knows, I took long enough to get round to feeling able to do it. Yet, I don't. Each day I wonder whether I'll have a drink or not. Thus far I haven't; my husband is so thrilled I'm not falling asleep on the sofa each night. But I have to get some motivation inside me. I used to be bulemic, and now I am very fearful that I will switch one for the other. I am eating like a pig! I see a therapist, do gym 2 x week and am being supervised by my GP. I feel there's no hope. If I don't want it from within; it won't happen. Then what will become of me? ....