Has anyone tried niacin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Has anyone tried niacin?

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to all this and just got some vits and supplements today which I'm starting. I've just got the book - on p98 it mentions that niacin helps with cravings - has anyone tried it?? Janice
    AF since 9 May 2012
    Quit trying to control something that is uncontrollable (Bear February 08)

Has anyone tried niacin?

Janice,

Niacin is a good medicine used in moderation. It can cause several side effects though and how each person tolerates it is completely up to thier own body make up. When taking Niacin you can get the seats, be flushed and hot and you can also damage your liver. Niacian Natually lowers chloresterol; however, if too much is taken you can damage your liver. It is never recommended that anyone with a fatty liver or cirroshis take niacin.

I have never heard of Niacin helping with cravings. Just be careful in its use. Always keep in mind that even a natual medicine can hurt you if taken incorrectly or missed with the wrong thing.

Function

Niacin assists in the functioning of the digestive system, skin, and nerves. It is also important for the conversion of food to energy.

Food Sources

Niacin (also known as vitamin B3) is found in dairy products, poultry, fish, lean meats, nuts, and eggs. Legumes and enriched breads and cereals also supply some niacin.

Side Effects

A deficiency of niacin causes pellagra . The symptoms include inflamed skin, digestive problems, and mental impairment.
    Large doses of niacin can cause liver damage, peptic ulcers , and skin rashes . Even normal doses can be associated with skin flushing. It can be prescribed as a treatment for elevated total cholesterol and other types of lipid disorders, but it should only be used with medical supervision due to its potential for severe side effects.

Recommendations