citalopram

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

citalopram

just wondered if anyone has any experience with citalopram i took it for a few months but was putting on loads of weight blamed that but was still drinking i had to restart the citalopram but stopped drinking and am now losing weight anyone else on this

citalopram

Hi - I took 20mg citalopram for depression for 4 months then 10mg for another 4 months. I drank heavily on it too. I gained weight on it but frankly it was the booze honey: 2 bottles of wine a day are a LOT of calories. I started MWO whilst on 10mg citalopram, including topa. I gradually titrated up to 150mg topa and decreased down off the anti-depressants. I stopped drinking. I have lost 25lbs and am not depressed any more and am off the SSRIs totally and my drinking is under control (I moderate, I don't abstain completely).

Personally I don't think SSRIs are linked to weight gain, but I am not a doctor. It's just my view. I must aslo say that I combined topa and citalopram with no medical supervision - bad girl - but had no side effects whatsover. I also took adrafinil at the ame time to get rid of the topa-dopa effect I probably rattled when I ran, but I felt bloody fantatstic.

Good luck!

Comment

citalopram

thanks ripley i was kidding myself when i blamed citalopram for the weight gain oh and i also blamed it for "the benign tremor" how stupid was i lol stangely enough the weight gain and the tremor have stopped since i stopped drinking!!!

Comment

citalopram

don;t worry sweetie we are all a bit crazy when we drink...!

Comment

citalopram

Hi Hereatlast,

I've been on citalopram for 6 weeks and I have put on weight but I think that is due to the extra sugar and food in general I have been eating to help curb the cravings for alcohol.

I have taken citalopram in the past whilst I was still drinking heavily but not eating that great and I didn't see any difference in my weight.