14 MONTHS AF!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

14 MONTHS AF!!!

[I also posted this on General Discussion-....but all you long-term Abbers are my peeps!]

Hello All—

I haven’t posted in many months but I pop in now and then… I am moved to see how many people are benefiting from this amazing site. I don’t know most of you (hello to those I do!)—but I DO know what you’re all dealing with because it’s my story too….

I just want to let you know that there really IS hope! Today I am celebrating 14 MONTHS AF!!! I first visited the former version of this site in April 2006 —right after I’d spent a couple of weeks in rehab. I had been drinking for 10 years AFTER I had been AF for 11 years….yeah…I thought I could moderate after 11 years and I ended up drinking like a fish for 10 more years.

BUT—here I am now…AF and feeling more than okay. I achieved the goal I set a year ago—I graduated from seminary!!

Let me share a little story:
    For a year our fridge has featured this silly little crayon drawing of “where I see myself a year from now” that I had to do in rehab. I imagined where I hoped to be and drew a picture of the grounds of my seminary populated with little stick “graduates” and entitled it “Graduation Day 2007.” Well, on May 18th 2007, I carried it with me when I actually graduated!! The whole thing looked remarkably like my scribbled drawing come to life! You CAN manifest your dreams!

Well, I just want to share this not only because I’m pleased with myself (and I am!) but also because I am so grateful to RJ and all the folks I “met” here and, most of all, to encourage all of you who are here now and struggling or just starting out and feeling anxious and afraid….