Amazed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Amazed

I am an absolute Newbie (found site and signed on yesterday) and have spent most of the last two days just reading and reading. This is soooo different from other sites, nobody judges, everybody seems good-humoured and compassionate and there is such a wealth of experience and intelligence.

I checked out some other 'alcoholism/problem drinking/whatever your definition is' sites before. Some of those approaches might work for some people but there's no way they would work for me. 'God, guilt, no control' - the sheer brutality of it was quite staggering. Add to that artificial 'hugs' - not from anybody who knows you or knows anything about you (I hadn't said anything about myself, just signed on!) and it becomes positively creepy. I think it's perfectly ok to be hugged when you express feeling shitty in a post, I even appreciate and like it. But to be hugged for joining a site? To have a competition going about who gives the most hugs?

Sorry just had to get that off my chest - it really shocked me. By the way I have no problem with people being religious, just as long as they don't have a problem with me not being religious. Loved the Buddhism thread - it's everything to all people - it can be a religion, a philosophy, psychology....

I try to meditate and to go with mindfulness but it goes so very much against everything I've been brought up with - it's hard.

So, I'm really, really glad I found you.

Take care
    uda

Amazed

Hi Uda! Welcome, this site is great. No judgement just good people!

Comment

Amazed

Welcome Uda,

this is a great place. Glad you found us.

Keep reading and posting and look forward to getting to know you.

Comment

Amazed

Its a good place I agree!! Thats why most of us are still here
        It's not that some people have willpower and some don't. It's that some people are ready to change and others are not.
        James Gordon, M.D.

Comment

Amazed