Help--Need to Exercise!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help--Need to Exercise!

This is my first time posting to this forum...I'm doing great with long-term abs, BUT I'm not having any success with getting an exercise program going.... I have similar feelings about starting exercise as I about stopping drinking: I know I I SHOULD do something but I can't seem to get started--and I don't really WANT to either....this attitude has got to change!

I literally can sit at my computer or read/write the entire day and not really walk anywhere....

I am now 54 (how did THAT happen!?), and have not been very physically active in years--although in my "youth" I was a competitive swimmer and have always been quite healthy....

I gained a ton weight over the past 6-7 years, but in the last 15 mos I have lost nearly 30 lbs just by not drinking....BUT I still have at good 30-35lbs to go to be where I was about 11 years ago before I "relapsed"....

I know I should just start with maybe walking a few blocks on a regular basis and even a little bit would be more than I'm now doing....but I need some encouragement or inspiration or support or something! Or maybe I just need to feel accountable to you all...that certainly helped with staying abs!

The only real physical problem I have (other than being completely out of condition!) is that I have torn the rotator cuff on my right shoulder and will be having surgery on the 25th--so "arm stuff" is out for the time being...but there is no reason (except my mental block) that I could not do some stretches or go for a walk or......

All suggestions, advice and moral support VERY WELCOME!
    "I'm a sucker for a good resurrection story." Anne Lamott

Help--Need to Exercise!

Hi Sujul