Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help

Hi, I'm new here. I googled online alcohol groups and found this place. The reason-- it's 5:45 pm and I'm just getting over yet another hangover (the end of which I can't remember).

My head hurts.

I feel like s**t. Physically and psychologically.

In the past two months I've lost my boyfriend (I was in a stupid drunk rage) and slept with a good friend -- all due to drinking to the point past blotto.

I have been drinking for many years. The first time I got drunk I really, really, really liked that feeling. I don't do other drugs (mainly b/c I am big on control, and the thought of my senses freaking out is not attractive to me-- like seeing a wall melt or something).

I quit smoking 4 years ago, and I'm a pretty addictive personality. When I start something, even online games, it's hard for me to stop.

I guess that I'm a binge drinker. I don't have to drink everyday, but usually do. When I start, it's whatever is in the house until I feel that drunk feeling. Then I'll continue until I fall asleep or what not. I do stupid, dumb, assinine things when I am drunk (I don't drive when drunk, but iI make bad decisions, say things I don't mean, fight, act in promiscious ways, etc). I have at least 1-2 blackouts a month.

I can't seem to regulate it, whatever I do.

I can't figure it out. I'm well educated, I have the ability to set goals and reach them in other domains, I just seem to be like an accident waiting to happen. As the years go by the dumb things get bigger and more destructive-- like broken relationships and missed days at work.

At the same time, I like wine, I like beer, and I like to have them with friends. I cook gourmet and love all things gastro. I like the social aspects of alcohol. I like to relax, unwind, go wine tasting, etc.

I just can't seem to stop drinking once I start.

I wake up with a mountain of regret. I feel out of sorts, jittery, crappy all around.