Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A Little Guidance

Hi Dr. Garcia,

Just looking for some direction. I'm new to this. I've ordered the program and was hoping to moderate my consumption without the use of drugs but would like your thoughts.

I've never been a daily drinker, although recently I've been drinking more frequently since my husband retired and is home. With increased regularity, we've been having 1-3 glasses of wine with dinner- a habit formed over our reunion dinners and "date nights' when we didn't see each other all week due to his business travel schedule. (Now it's too much of a good thing) Prior to that I'd drink maybe 2-3 times per week- usually 2-4 glasses of wine depending on how long we waited for a table for dinner. I can go without anything for days.

I have two identifiable issues that I don't like 1)is that I tend to drink too fast, 2) I sometimes get into what I call "party mode" and just don't use good sense. When I drink too fast I tend to forget that my plan was to switch to soda after one or two. I just end up consuming more than I'd like, but rarely get too tipsy.

Occasionally, but with more frequency lately, I feel this "party mode" come over me. I feel it before I even drink and once I start I get even more into it. I can identify the feeling, but generally when it comes on I'm just in the mood to celebrate and play and I don't care about moderation. It generally revolves around an event or a gathering of people I really enjoy and am happy to see.