Heavy Drinking First Month of Pregnancy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

This is my first time posting and I am hoping I can get some advice/thoughts/help etc. because I am pretty devastated & disgusted with myself. I found out at the end of July that I was pregnant (4 weeks along). I was initially thrilled and then quickly horrified! I drank heavily through most of July before I knew I was pregnant. I was drinking pretty much daily and I couldn't tell you how much most days but it was alot (easily a bottle of wine or more - but also hard liquor a number of times). So I was drinking daily during weeks 3 & 4 (1st two weeks after I conceived). Of course I have absolutely stopped - not touched a drink since the night before I took my pregnancy test. I am now starting my 8th week. But I am so upset about the potential harm I've inflicted on my baby that I think about it constantly and I am starting to have a hard time sleeping and eating. I didn't mention it at my very first appointment with my obgyn last week but have since raised it with her nurse so it is on my doctor's radar and I am planning to talk with her about it on Monday.

I know there are many examples out there about women having drinks here & there before they knew they were pregnant but I am clearly way beyond that category and I'm really, really scared for my baby, the possibility of FAS, etc. and completely disgusted with myself. I know I have a problem and have been working on my drinking recently - the ironic thing is that I barely drank in June but (and this is no excuse) life fell apart quite a bit in July and, well, here I am. How likely is it that I've caused severe damage to my baby? Has anyone had a similar experience? Or would be willing to share their story? I would greatly appreciate it and thank you SO much for reading what ended up being a much longer post than intended.

Never Been There...