Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What are your symptoms of withdrawal?

Hi All,

So, I have been drinking too heavily for about 2 years, I have tried to quit in the past but only managed a week. I decided enough was enough last week when I had drank 2 bottles of wine and couldn't get myself out of bed to go to work.

I attended the local drug and alcohol centre and that hit me like a ton of bricks, being asked questions about my drinking in a tiny, grubby little room that stank like a mouldy alcohol refinery was one of the lowest points for me.

Its been 8 days now and this time it feels different, I feel I am really going to beat it. What I want to know is am i experiencing withdrawal? or am i just a miserable sod?

My symptoms
    Insomnia
    Increased appetitie for sugar in the evenings - Chocolate bars, soda etc
    Lethargy and hangover feeling in the mornings
    Bad cold that wont shift
    Headaches
    Irritability
    feeling of the world on my shoulders
    Inability to focus for more than 5 minutes
    Lack of drive

I wonder if anyone can share their experiences of post drinking, and how long can I expect it to last for... if indeed these are withdrawal symptoms?

Thanks all... perhaps I am just a miserable sod though.

Nailz

Hi there Nailz.
    These 'symptoms' of withdrawal seem pretty much the norm for a long term drinker quitting. I think I have felt pretty much all of them in the last 2 weeks of sobriety after 2 months of near constant drinking. But there have been more positives than negatives as the second week has passed, and today at nearly 2 weeks I feel great, and ready to move on.
    So , no, its not 'grumpy sod' syndrome!
    To Infinity And Beyond!!

Comment

Hi Nailz