Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

depression

Hello brave souls
    I've been reading the posts for awhile now and have to admit this is my second post. ( I posted a receipt for all one powder) but this is my first .."Hello this is me I need help" post.
    I've been AF for 3 weeks and 4 days, My goal is 3 months. I have not taken any meds because one of the reasons I want to quite drinking is to get my brain back. Topa sounds like it would make my memory worse. I do however have a perscription waiting in the wings.
    My reasons to quit are as follows 1) to get my brain back , my memory is very bad and getting worse
    2) to lose wieght
    3) to feel desire and passion for life
    I have been drinking at least a bottle of wine a day for 20 years. I've always been controlled, Iwould never drink and drive, I never drank enough to be out of control.. I would switch to water if I started to feel drunk. I never passed out or had a black out...BUT ... I did feel Numb...not high ...not really low (although always more depressed than happy). Every night at 5 oclock I would open a bottle and drink till I went to bed sometimes that meant 2 bottles of wine always at least one.
    I'm 52 now, and as I look back.. I've always had depression in my life, but at least I had some excitement and desire. and passion for things. Now I have none. Antidepressants are a nightmare for me and my body tends to reject almost all vitamins and drugs (except wine). So I have to find natural ways (No good ones yet) to help myself. I quite smoking 10 years ago (a two pack a day habit that lasted about 30 years) and that was I think the worst and the best thing I ever did. It changed my whole personality..and my body..
    I gained 40 lbs. For years after I quit all I wanted to do was feel "normal" again. Never quit made it back.