Not exciting, but still My Life

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

:new:I have never written anything like this before so let’s see if I can actually do it and have it make sense. I don’t know if anyone will ever ready this but I am writing this because I want to be able to look back when I forget:
    A) How bad I wanted to get drunk
    B) How bad I felt physically and emotionally when I got drunk
    C) How others, mainly my husband, viewed me and my actions when I got drunk
    D) How badly I want to stay sober
    I am 44, marriage #2, living in the most wonderful place on earth. I have a 26 year old son and a 5 year old grandson that live 16 hours away. I see them both about once every 2 years.

I grew up in a wonderful household with loving, supportive parents. My father was an alcoholic as long as I can remember. I’ve gto the memories of Birthdays and Holiday sitting around waiting from my father to come home from the bar so we can celebrate. The missed dinners, and social events because he was absent. The worry every time he didn’t come home when expected. His runs to the store that would take 3 hours. Riding in the car with him driving erratically, crying, begging him to pull over. Lying awake at night hearing the endless arguments that my parents would have regarding his drinking, sitting in the car outside a bar because he “just needs to talk to this guy” and after 2 hours wondering if I’ld be in trouble for going in and getting him, etc.

My father had “held it together” pretty much until I was about 15. After that he basically became the bum you see on the street except that my mother was able to keep a roof over our heads. I remember coming home from school with a friend and stepping over my passed out father on the floor. I just blew it off to my friends but I can’t imagine the horror they must have felt when they saw him. It never even dawned on me that he might be laying there dead.