Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ask the trainer

Hi all,

Seeing as I am frequenting this forum more and more and everyone has been so great on here, I thought I would give something back.

I work as a trainer and nutrition coach. So fire away with any questions.

I know that fitness can transform lives and personalities, and where better than to help people than those struggling with AL addiction.

:l

Ask the trainer

What a nice offer, Londoner.

For most of my adult life I was an avid medium-intensity, medium to long-duration exerciser (several years as a jogger, then power walker, also cardio machines at the gym). I started lifting weights about 15 years ago. So for years, I spent 60-90 min per day exercising.

When I started cleaning up my diet a couple years ago, the same articles I was reading for that had information about high intensity interval training, also. I read some books and watched videos and have been experimenting with that approach for the last several months (you know, when you are changing your life, might as well just go for it...!).

I have found that I love getting a thorough workout in well under a half hour. I still try to walk as much as possible (but not as fast as I possibly can), ride my bike for errands, and generally be active but those things are no longer my primary form of exercise.

I've read several articles about how our bodies adapt to regular, moderate intensity exercise in the same way they adapt to restricting energy intake - by burning LESS energy. We are told that exercise increases our basal metabolic rate but in fact, the data are just the opposite! Learning that really inspired me to give up the daily hour long run/walk/ellipse/whatever.

I think I'm in equal or better shape than before (of course, giving up AL last January coincided with all of this and so undoubtedly is a factor ). Do you promote this type of exercise program? I'm a mid-50s female.

Thanks, NS

Comment

Ask the trainer